School Board Appreciation Week


The Oostburg School District will join school districts throughout the state to salute their local education leaders during Wisconsin School Board Week Oct. 7-13.

The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Wisconsin’s school board members, including the Oostburg School Board, who are charged with governing public education under state law.

Wisconsin school board members are chosen by their communities to manage local schools. They oversee multimillion dollar budgets which fund education programs for more than 867,000 students in more than 420 public schools districts. Their personnel decisions affect thousands of teachers, administrators and support workers.

These volunteer leaders are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving curricula, maintaining school facilities and adhering to state and federal education law. Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, can require them to spend many hours in personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education in our community. We salute the public servants of the Oostburg School Board whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible: Jim Swart, Dr. Eric Hartman, Wendy DenBoer, Terry Lemkuil, Deb Harmeling, Jack Stokdyk and Mari Kretz.

Please join us by saying thanks to our school board members during Wisconsin School Board Week.

Kevin Bruggink

Superintendent, Oostburg School District